My Body My Choice? Thoughts of a Woman on Women’s Rights.

Let me start out by clarifying what this post is not. It is not an attempt to be combative or even to really argue for the morality or immorality of abortion. It is, I hope, more of an examination of the philosophy behind the mantra of abortion and a reflection on the wisdom or lack of wisdom of said philosophy, for I wish, in all things, to live wisely and I should hope that you do too. Though I think we must be cautioned that wisdom, unlike its counterpart folly, rarely leads us where we are most comfortable and usually asks us to pay some kind of price.

“My body, my choice” is the prevailing chant of those who argue that abortion is permissible. This mantra exalts the philosophy of bodily autonomy, the idea that our bodies are our own and we get to choose what we do with them. I think there are some pretty gaping holes in this argument and that the good principle of bodily autonomy has been abused to mean something it was not intended to, something more akin to bodily tyranny, as if our choices are impervious to any dictates of moral law.

Certainly though, there is an appeal. The right to choose seems an obvious and inherent good and so it is to an extent, but I think we must ask ourselves some bigger questions. In whose world do our bodies exist and are our bodies really our own? In essence, do our choices dictate to moral law or is it the other way around? If we want to know the answer, we must find out if we exist in someone else’s world, for if we do, we are answerable to that someone for the choices we make. If we do, we should care about what He thinks about what we do with our bodies. More than that, I think we should think rightly about our bodies and about how we may best use them.

My husband was telling me that he is going to be talking to our youth group about abortion and he might want me to contribute a woman’s perspective. So it got me thinking. The issue of abortion is framed as an issue of women’s rights. The argument I have heard is that pregnancy is such a burden, such an invasion of bodily autonomy and privacy that no woman should have to endure it against her will. Having now experienced it myself, I can tell you that it is true. The thing I kept thinking while I was pregnant was, “Man, this is a commitment.” I threw up for three months. I was tired from waking up several times a night to go to the bathroom. I gained a lot of weight and felt unattractive. And then there were the contractions and the labor, the literal tearing of my body.

What I’ve come to realize though is that we continue to pay a bodily price for our babies even after they are out of the womb. You start with the painful recovery from labor and the sleepless nights with a newborn. You have stretch marks in places you didn’t know you could stretch. You basically become an on demand milk cow. You get circles under your eyes from long nights and pains in your back from bending over to pick up toys and scrape dried sweet potato off the floor. Your body will literally never be the same again. Children, at any age, take a toll on your body and your life. The bottom line is that people and commitment to people are inconvenient, demanding, and costly.

But you want to know the truth? Our bodies are wasting assets and how we use them matters. We have two choices. We can invest in them and our right to rule them. We can hope in our power over them, but we will be sorely disappointed for at the end of it all, each of our bodies will be claimed by death whether we choose it or not. The grave is no respecter of our independent wills. The other option is that we can choose to invest our bodies in something that lasts or rather, someone that lasts. We can take what is perishable and with it, purchase what is imperishable, the life and souls of our children.

Wisdom whispers to us not miss what is lasting because it is hard and reminds us that everything that is of great worth comes at a great cost. It beseeches us to think beyond the present and into eternity. It beckons us to be like Christ, who gave up all rights to His own body for our sake. So, I would also urge us all to set aside our wills, our comforts and to let our bodies be spent, to be used up for another and so, to not be wasted.

24 thoughts on “My Body My Choice? Thoughts of a Woman on Women’s Rights.

  1. Bucco Fan says:

    Yes! Yes! Yes!! Allow our bodies to succor to death because it’s “my body” or choose to hand it over to the One who created it and He can use it for His glory!!

  2. Well done, Emily:

    Even if one does not believe in the one true God or prescribe to moral absolutes…abortion is still the brutal, premeditated murder and dismemberment of an innocent life. The barbarity of this unconscionable act, in conjunction with the cold and calculated nature of this grisly crime – causes even the damned and dead to shudder with alarm.

  3. Yes and amen! I am not my own, I was bought with a price—the blood of Jesus. He died on a cross because individual lives matter to Him.
    But even if one doesn’t believe in this truth, abortion is murder.

  4. greatmom55 says:

    So I would assume, Emily, that you would also take issue with Brittany Maynard, the young woman who chose death with dignity when suffering from a horrific form of brain cancer as opposed to having her family watch her suffer unimaginable pain and die an agonizing death before their very eyes? Not her body, not her choice? Again, you profess to be non-combative and non-confrontational, yet you continually choose controversial topics on which to pontificate. You’re a wolf in sheep’s clothing, my dear. You know it and, more importantly, God knows it.

    • Gmom55:

      It is clear that you despise Emily, but what I cannot understand is why you keep coming back for more. Are you sure envy isn’t clouding your judgment? And, please…don’t pretend that you give a hoot about her soul or her walk with Christ – you hate her plain and simple. So, I urge you to create your own blog, so I can “drive-by” and pick your perspectives apart….limb by limb. That is…if I had the time and were so inclined.

      Now that we have that squared away, let us move on to the topic at hand.

      “So I would assume, Emily, that you would also take issue with Brittany Maynard, the young woman who chose death with dignity when suffering from a horrific form of brain cancer as opposed to having her family watch her suffer unimaginable pain and die an agonizing death before their very eyes? Not her body, not her choice?” – Gmom55

      I would like to point out to you, Gmom55, that abortion and “death with dignity” are two completely different issues. Please understand that the barbaric and inhumane practice of infanticide robs the victim of free will, free choice, self-determination and the right to life, liberty, and the pursuit of happiness – as set forth in the Declaration of Independence.

      So, please tell me how someone is to be reassured of the Declaration’s grand intent…when their mother has seen fit to snuff out their voice and their life?! At least the young woman with brain cancer is able to make a decision that is based upon her own free will and her right to self-determination – something that is taken away from 1.3 million American children, each and every year – from the very ones who were entrusted with these precious little souls.

  5. greatmom55 says:

    I surely don’t “despise” Emily, but you’re right, I’m not worried about her spiritual walk, anymore than she’s truly concerned with mine. Her aim, and yours, is to guarantee your own salvation and your crocodile tears for babies and Bruce Jenner’s gender issues/sin (?) surely aren’t fooling many people. I simply don’t believe Emily (or you, for that matter) has the best of intentions and that, contrary to her claims, she indeed does like to “stir the pot.” Thank you for your advice. You have nothing “squared away” and I believe I’m as free to “drive by” this blog as are you, so if YOU don’t like what I have to say, YOU can go elsewhere.

    My body, my choice. It was true for Brittany Maynard (in her state of residence) and it’s true for all women when it comes to abortion. In fact, Mr. Hammer, it’s the law, so perhaps you’d better learn to deal with it. Have a FABULOUS evening!

  6. Gmom55:

    1) For someone who preaches “tolerance” and enjoys the moral void it engenders – you sure come across as spiteful and judgmental toward those with a different point-of-view…especially those with a moral eye.
    2) Unless you are in my mind, in my heart, or have enmeshed your spirit with mine – you cannot possibly know what I think and feel nor can you truly know what my motivations are. So, why pretend?
    3) I never said you were not welcome to “drive by” Emily’s blog…that’s between you and Emily. I did, however, question why you keep coming back, since it is obvious you dislike Emily and her value system.
    4) The mantra of “My body, my choice” is just that…a mantra of murder, espoused by moral reprobates who lack a conscience.
    5) Most of the Supreme Court justasses are wayward little boys and girls who grew up to be wayward men and women…who had black robes bestowed upon them by the ones they serve.

    These robes may make them look official, but It doesn’t make them smarter, it doesn’t make them right, it doesn’t make them moral, it doesn’t make them wise, it doesn’t make them just, it doesn’t make them decent and it doesn’t mean their opinions hold any real weight in the long run. Simply put: They are political pawns of low moral caliber.

  7. greatmom55 says:

    Hmmm…. I’m judgmental, but you have the right and ability to decide who is of low moral caliber? You somehow know other people’s intent and personal circumstances, feel entitled to be their moral compass, and woe unto the person who disagrees with you or sees things from another perspective. You can pontificate all you want, feel as smug as you want and parade your self-righteousness for all to see, secure in your twisted belief that you are so very wise, but I will thank the Lord every day that He did not create me to think like you and Emily, and to defend those thoughts in such a mean spirited, hateful way. I’m sure you’ll have what you (and only you) perceive to be a snappy, informed comeback (complete with quotations, as if I didn’t already know what I wrote), but be advised…your words will fall on deaf ears because sparring with someone like you isn’t worthy of my time and quite frankly is beneath me.

    Blessed be. (Oh my, is that a pagan expression I just used????? For shame!!!!!!)

    • “I’m judgmental, but you have the right and ability to decide who is of low moral caliber? You somehow know other people’s intent and personal circumstances, feel entitled to be their moral compass, and woe unto the person who disagrees with you or sees things from another perspective.” – Gmom55

      Sweetie…your comments remind me of the elementary school tactic of mirroring sentiments, i.e., “I know you are, but what am I”.

      “You can pontificate all you want, feel as smug as you want and parade your self-righteousness for all to see, secure in your twisted belief that you are so very wise, but I will thank the Lord every day that He did not create me to think like you and Emily.” – Gmom55

      Darlin’…you may thank the Lord everyday that you are not like Emily and me, but I am not so sure you should be looking forward to Divine Judgment. How do you plan to explain your adherence and promotion of infanticide, homosexuality, bi-sexuality, transgenderism and a host of other sinful offenses to our Heavenly Father, who is righteous and holy? Something tells me He’s going to have a bad reaction to the mantra, “My body, my choice” – which you condone and advocate.

      “Your words will fall on deaf ears because sparring with someone like you isn’t worthy of my time and quite frankly beneath me.” – Gmom55

      Heaven isn’t for everyone, sweetheart, so you are free to believe and behave as you see fit…just not in my house.

      P.S. Just so you know, none of the things I have said have originated with me, but have been lovingly lifted from God’s holy Word. Your objection, therefore, is not with the messenger, but with the Message.

      Good luck to you and yours – C.J.

  8. greatmom55 says:

    Wait…what? Was somebody speaking? No, my mistake…just someone’s misogyny showing, darlin, sweetie, sugar pie, honey bun.

    • Gmom55:

      I don’t understand you. On one hand you seem to be impervious to pain and emotional tenderness when you ardently endorse the brutal dismemberment and death of unborn babies as well as the senseless mutilation of Transgendered individuals, but then you turn right around and scream like a banshee when someone tries to promote moral standards or use non-combative terms to address you. Please advise.

  9. greatmom55 says:

    Non-combative? Are you even serious right now? You’ve called me and others who dare to disagree with you evil, sinners, immoral reprobates, judgmental, intolerant, banshees and pretty much — in your perceived infinite wisdom, because you are indeed a legend in your own mind — condemned us to hell. Perhaps in your rigid, fundamental world, that’s non-combative. In my world, it’s something entirely different, so, thanks, but no thanks. I’ll not “advise” you of anything, because whether or not you understand me matters not one bit to me and, truly, you remind me quite a bit of the schoolyard bully in my 3rd grade class, all blustery and puffed up with his own ego. In any case, I will say this. Had you bothered to pay attention to any of my previous posts, you would know that I am in no way in favor of late term abortions that “brutally dismember” infants. I am no expert on Planned Parenthood, so cannot argue their case or defend their practices. I do, however, believe that there can be personal circumstances (emphasis on PERSONAL, i.e., none of your business or mine) that would cause a woman to want or need, for mental and/or physical reasons, an abortion. And even if I were vehemently opposed to abortion early on, I would at least attempt to muster up the empathy and compassion necessary to say out loud, like a grown-up, that until I’ve walked in someone else’s shoes, I am in no position and have no right to judge or condemn. That’s what good people do. That’s what people with good intentions and good hearts do. Because I can guarantee you 100% that until you are face to face with any given set of difficult circumstances, or feel true desperation, you do not know how you would react or what you would do. Never say never, Mr. Hammer, never say never.

    • boomslang says:

      “Perhaps in your rigid, fundamental world, that’s non-combative.” ~ greatmom55

      Oh, abso-flippin’-lutely it’s “non-combative” in that world. Apparently, any behavior towards non-believers goes because it presumably upholds “His Word”. Yes, “Sweetie”, you have a problem with “the Message”, not “the messenger”. Hmmm, how about both?(rhetorical).

      Anyhow – and you might agree – it’s eyebrow-raising how frequently “moral standards” gets mentioned on this blog. And I’m not saying it’s not par for the course; it’s just interesting how certain people think that following orders necessarily constitutes being “moral”.

    • GMom55:

      I would like to preface what I am about to say by apologizing for the late reply. I tried to respond a week ago, but technical difficulties made it impossible.

      So…without further ado:

      “Non-combative? You’ve called me and others who dare to disagree with you evil, sinners, immoral reprobates, judgmental, intolerant, banshees and…condemned us to hell.” – GMom55

      To say one screams “like a banshee” does not condemn one as being a banshee anymore than saying one slept “like a baby” condemns one to the crib. I think if you revisit the statements that I have made with an unbiased mind – you will conclude that I never condemned anyone. To warn someone of impending doom or to bring an unhealthy lifestyle choice into question…is not the same as condemning one to hell. I truly hope you can see the difference.

      “…you remind me quite a bit of the schoolyard bully in my 3rd grade class, all blustery and puffed up with his own ego.” – GMom55

      Bully? Not hardly. I am a man of peace who is reluctantly driven to the sword.

      What we have here is a situation where the author of this blog has placed her thoughts, feelings and beliefs on her own (personal) webpage…only to see you, and others like you, scold her maliciously and hound her religiously.

      The way I see it…is that you and the LGBT mafia came to her school yard and tried to shame her, silence her voice and beat her from the grounds. As a defender of the faith and brother in Christ – I cannot let that happen. So, anytime you want to invade Emily’s home turf, hoping to kick her knee and bloody her nose – you will have to square-off with me first.

      If you don’t like the way things are going…stop harassing Emily and ride off into the sunset – it’s really as simple as that.

      “…until I’ve walked in someone else’s shoes, I am in no position and have no right to judge or condemn. That’s what good people do. That’s what people with good intentions and good hearts do. Because I can guarantee you 100% that until you are face to face with any given set of difficult circumstances, or feel true desperation, you do not know how you would react or what you would do. Never say never, Mr. Hammer, never say never.” – GMom55

      What you are describing is called moral relativism. Its platform is built upon the premise that there is no God and that every individual is responsible for coming to their own conclusions about justice, ethical integrity and morality.

      Know it or not…this system promotes anarchy – as each party lives by their own code and makes decisions about what is right and wrong and good and bad…based upon their own experiences and personal biases. Therefore, what is right for you may be wrong for another and what one considers to be immoral…may be considered a virtue by someone else. This is why Biblical principles are so important, because they keep everyone on the same page and living to the same standard – making no allowances for personal exceptions.

      P.S. Why is it so hard for you to respect Emily’s opinion and her constitutional right to express herself?

  10. greatmom55 says:

    I do agree. I believe that attitude is symptomatic of people who are unable to think for themselves…sheep, if you will. Thinking outside the box takes them out of their comfort zone; therefore, they choose the rigid, fundamental religious path thus removing the need to make decisions for themselves. There is always something or somebody to tell them what to do and there’s no personal accountability. “God spoke to me” or “God told me to…” [fill in the blank] justifies every thought and action. And who can argue with a direct order from God?? They (i.e., Mr. Hammer) therefore belive they are entitled and qualified to be everyone’s moral compass because they have a direct pipeline to the great beyond. I’m not sure if it’s sad, scary, pathetic or cagey like a fox. What I do know for sure is that I choose to live a different life, a life that I know in my heart (without hearing the voice of God in my ear) is moral and spiritual and will leave my corner of the world better than I found it because I’ve raised wonderful children, had a long, happy marriage, made dear friends and done good as often as I could. I hope Mr. Hammer can leave this world with the same assurance. Thanks for sharing your thoughts Boomslang.

    • GMom55:

      “I believe that attitude is symptomatic of people who are unable to think for themselves…sheep, if you will. Thinking outside the box takes them out of their comfort zone; therefore, they choose the rigid, fundamental religious path thus removing the need to make decisions for themselves.” – GMom55

      If the Bible is the “box” in your metaphor…then it would be imprudent to think and live outside its parameters, simply because there is nothing to gain and everything to lose.

      Only wolves, jackals and foxes stand to benefit from a “sheep” who wanders away from her safety zone. Truth is…a sheep who leaves her shepherd or a bunny who leaves the brier – will soon perish in the jaws of calamity. Life outside the box is a refuge for wild beasts and predators.

      Now, let us be honest for a moment: You and I both know that “thinking outside the (Biblical) box” has never added a drop of decency to your life or done anything positive for you…so why do you advocate such nonsense?

      In like fashion, I have never seen a winning team deviate from a successful play book, just so they can “make decisions for themselves.” Who does that? Fact is…this doesn’t work in business, industry or sports anymore than it works in life.

      In closing, I bet you have never made a decision in your life that departs from the Hollywood screen writer’s guild or deviates from the LGBT lobby or feminist manifesto. You are a machine…a record – a program devoid of all independent thought; an actress without genuine emotion, who is following a prepared script.

      • greatmom55 says:

        Given the increasingly hostile, insulting and combative tone of your posts, I must conclude that it would not be wise, nor in keeping with my personal value system (which is obviously far superior to yours) to communicate with you further. I take no pleasure in, and gain no edification from, sparring with someone with no rational thought process, lacking the ability to comprehend matters obviously far beyond the reach of his intelligence and narrow mind. See you in the real world, Mr. Hammer.

      • Best wishes, behave and be well – C.J. Sledgehammer

    • Boomslang says:

      No problem, greatmom55. ‘Happy to have crossed paths with you here.

      Quick question and an observation: When you initially posted on this blog did you or did you not encounter comment moderation? ‘Point being, I did initially encounter such moderation, so if you did too, it just seems to me that if the author/owner of this blog felt berated and/or if she felt that attempts were being made to “silence” her, that it’s remarkable that my and your perspectives and various critiques of the subject matter on this blog are allowed through moderation for publishing. I mean, if you felt harassed or if you felt like someone was trying to silence you, wouldn’t your first recourse be to disallow the distressing comments?

      And BTW, I should echo what I’ve said in previous posts, which is that I find it commendable that this blog’s owner/operator does allow views that dissent from her own, despite the clear disapproval of a few of her devotees. Nice chattin’ 🙂

      • As a point of clarification, some of my earlier posts (on the Bruce Jenner blog) never saw the light of day, so it seems Emily may have been having technical difficulties at that time.

        Since that time, however, she seems to have fixed the problem and has allowed everyone to have their say – even if they “cuss like a sailor” or come to vent.

        Personally, I am beginning to wonder if she even reads these threads anymore. For the most part…it’s the same old thing, day in and day out, so boredom could be a factor (and being a new mother). For the life of me, I cannot understand why I have held on this long.

        I can tell you, that early on, I saw Emily engage in dialog (on the Bruce Jenner blog) a few times, but I haven’t seen hide nor hair of her in quite some time.

        At the end of the day…I think perhaps I am more offended by some of these remarks than she is. If this is so, then perhaps it’s time that I redirect my attention elsewhere and return to whence I came.

  11. greatmom55 says:

    Lest you become smug, Mr. Hammer, let me clarify. I will continue to read these posts and comment as my conscience compels me. What I will not do, however, is engage with you or respond to your belligerent, ill-informed opinions. Bullies find it difficult to spar with themselves.

    • “Lest you become smug?” – GMom (11-17-15)

      On October 22, 2015 you stated, “You can pontificate all you want, feel as smug as you want and parade your self-righteousness for all to see, secure in your twisted belief that you are so very wise….” – GMom55

      I’m confused, GMom. Am I smug or am I in danger of becoming smug? Your condemnation of my character on, October 17th, left me thinking I had already crossed over the line. But, after reading today’s commentary – I think there may yet be hope. Please advise.

  12. greatmom55 says:

    Mr. Boom, I did not experience any moderation or censorship of my posts; however, I believe it is now clear that Emily (or whoever he/she is) uses this website as a passive/aggressive bully pulpit — hitting and running. At first glance, it seemed as if she had some depth and purpose to her viewpoints and perspective, which would be worthy of respect, even if I disagreed with her fundamentally. For once — and only once — I believe I agree with Mr. Hammer. Perhaps it’s time to hit delete on this one…but then maybe that’s been her goal all along? To silence those who dare to oppose her? Who knows. Not my circus, not my monkeys.

Leave a Reply

